Pat Quinn Governor



Erwin McEwen
Director

Illinois Department of Children & Family Services

December, 2010

NOTICE TO LICENSED DAY CARE HOME PROVIDERS

REFERENCE: Revisions to Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes

FROM: Erwin McEwen

EFFECTIVE: December 15, 2010

Following is a summary of the revisions to Rule 406, Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes approved by the Joint Committee of Administrative Rules. A complete version of the revised rule can be accessed and printed from the Department website under the link "Policy and Rules" or from the following link:

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900406sections.html

Pre-service Training for New Applicants and Fire Safety Inspections

<u>Section 406.4</u> – Requires 15 hours of pre-service training for **new** applicants and prior to issuing a permit in Section 406.7. The training must include:

- 1) Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS);
- 2) Shaken Baby Syndrome; and
- 3) Department approved Mandated Reporter training

Fire safety prevention inspections shall be done by the Office of the State Fire Marshal for multi level or unusual or complex homes; for single-floor homes, inspections shall be done by a trained licensing representative.

Required Training for Renewal and Other Requirements

<u>Section 406.5</u> – Prior to license renewal, the licensees must complete the required 15 hours of annual training. The licensing representative shall review the day care home's emergency, tornado and hazard protection plans prior to renewal. Fire safety prevention inspections shall be done by the Office of the State Fire Marshal or a trained licensing representative.



Office of the Director 406 E. Monroe Street • Springfield, Illinois 62701 217-785-2509 • 217-785-1052Fax

Smoke Detectors in Each Room and other Safety Provisions

<u>Section 406.8</u> – Requires smoke detectors to be installed in each room where children nap or sleep as required by the State Fire Code, and not just within 15 feet of these rooms. Requires that the home be maintained in good repair and provide a safe environment for children. In addition, requires a range of ambient temperatures during summer and winter months. Improves fire safety standards in the home as required by the State Fire Code and the Department's agreement with the Office of the State Fire Marshal.

New Applicants Must Have a High School Diploma

<u>Section 406.9</u> – Requires that after January 2011 new day care home applicants shall have a high school diploma, or equivalency certificate.

Child's Birth Certificate for New Enrollees

<u>Section 406.12</u> –The Missing Children Records Act [325 ILCS 50/5] requires that the parent or guardian of a child to be enrolled for the first time in a day care home must provide a certified copy of the child's birth certificate within 30 days after enrollment.

Licensing Violations to be Posted

<u>Section 406.24</u> – Requires that substantiated licensing violations be posted in a prominent area of the home until all violations have been corrected.

Licensing Year Instead of Calendar Year for Required In-service Training

<u>Section Appendix D</u> – Sets the time frame for completing the 15 hours of in-service training to the period of the licensing year instead of calendar year and deletes the requirement to prorate hours of training in each calendar year.

QUESTIONS

Licensed day care providers should direct questions regarding the amended rules to their licensing representative.

ACCESS TO REVISED PART

A complete version of the revised rule Part 406, Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes, can be accessed and printed from the Department website under the link "Policy and Rules."