Referral Process

Youth under the age of 21 who have transitioned from DCFS care should contact the Youth Housing Assistance Program Coordinator or a DCFS contracted Youth Housing Advocate directly.

Caseworkers who are serving youth who are within six months of transitioning out of DCFS care can refer youth to the program. Caseworkers should complete form CFS 370-5YHAP.

Youth Housing Assistance Program: Cash Assistance or Housing Advocacy Services, obtain appropriate approvals and submit the request to:

The DCFS YHAP Coordinator

Phone: 312-328-2159 Fax: 312-328-2478

Email:

DCFS.YHAP.Coordinator@illinois.gov

Please contact the DCFS YHAP Coordinator for more information on the program.



www2.Illinois.gov/DCFS



1911 S. Indiana Ave. Chicago IL 60616 Phone: 312.328.2159 Fax: 312.328.2478 Email: DCFS.YHAP.Coordinator@illinois.gov

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois DCFS #405 - Feb 2019 - 600 Copies CFS 1050-35 - Rev. 2/19

Youth Housing Assistance Program





Housing Advocacy

Housing advocacy services assist clients in obtaining and/or maintaining stable housing.

Services include:

- Assistance in securing affordable housing;
- Consumer education:
- Budget counseling;
- Linkages to community-based resources (i.e. assistance with utilities, clothing and food); and
- Follow-up services for a minimum of three months after the client secures appropriate housing.

"It can take weeks or even months to locate adequate housing. Caseworkers assisting youth with an open DCFS case should refer youth up to six months before they transition from DCFS care."

Housing Advocacy Eligibility

Youth applying for housing advocacy services must:

- Be at least 17½ and less than 21 years of age;
- Have an open DCFS case and be within six months of transferring out of DCFS care or be a former youth who was emancipated (Note: Youth who entered adoption or subsidized guardianship

after their 14th birthday are also eligible.);

 be homeless or in significant danger of becoming homeless if assistance is not provided

Cash Assistance

Cash Assistance assists youth who are under 21 and have either transitioned, or are transitioning, out of DCFS care obtain and/or maintain adequate housing.

Cash assistance may be authorized for the following reasons:

- Housing security deposit;
- Rent when the client cannot make the payment;
- For youth who have already transitioned out of DCFS care, partial housing subsidy for a period of one year following emancipation (housing costs must exceed 30 percent of income and assistance cannot continue past the client's 21st birthday);
- Beds for the client and the client's children;
- Current utility bills or deposits;
- Appliances; or
- Other items required by the client to avoid or manage a crisis.
- Dresser and/or dinette set

Cash Assistance Eligibility

Youth applying for Cash Assistance must:

- Be at least 18 and less than 21 years of age;
- Have an open DCFS case and be within six months of transitioning out of DCFS care or have already transitioned out of DCFS care and are not yet 21 years of age.
- Have an income that is sufficient to meet rent and utility costs after cash assistance is provided;
- Complete a budget statement (CFS 370-5C) that demonstrates that with any subsidy and all other income they will be able to cover all remaining living expenses (e.g. housing, utilities, clothing, food). Note: If the budget criterion is not met and the client has shown commitment to obtaining an income (e.g., is in a job placement program), a one-time exception may be made; and
- Live in inadequate housing or the housing will become inadequate if cash assistance is not provided.